The team

Artistic director : Louis Dufort
Louis Dufort is a Montréal composer. His productions are numerous and of multiple forms: fixed support, mixed with live processing, visual music, and installation. He has received several commissions from various musical ensembles and organizations: ACREQ, SMCQ, Réseaux, Chants libres, Codes d’accès, ECM, Quasar saxophone quartet, Quatuor Bozzini, The Users, Musée Pointe-à-Callière, ZKM (Germany), SIXTRUM, and Radio-Canada. He has also been a regular collaborator with COMPAGNIE MARIE CHOUINARD since 1996. Louis Dufort has a PhD in electroacoustic composition from the Université de Montréal, and he teaches composition at the Conservatoire de musique de Montréal. He has been Akousma’s artistic director since 2010.

Director general: Réjean Beaucage
Following his BA in literary studies at the Université du Québec à Montréal, Réjean Beaucage turned his attention both to music (as a self-taught drummer) and to radio (mainly at CIBL-FM, where he was a researcher, director, producer, and presenter from 1985 to 2002). He won the Prix Opus from the Conseil québécois de la musique in the “Production médiatique de l’année 1996-1997” (Media production of the year, 1996–1997) category for his series of radio programs AnémixinémA/Zone sonore. Alongside these pursuits, his interest in print journalism led him to become a regular contributor to Montréal weekly magazine Voir between 2001 and 2020. He has also written for La Scena Musicale, Circuit, and Improjazz (France), among many other magazines and journals. He has written a book on the history of the Société de musique contemporaine du Québec (Septentrion, 2011) and an essay on musique actuelle (Varia, 2019). He has been Akousma’s director general since 2010.

Technical director (Usine C) : Frédéric Auger
Photographer (concerts) : Caroline Campeau

  • Président : Georges Nicholsoncommunicator
  • Vice-président : Pierre-Alexandre Bouchardproducer, cinema
  • Secrétaire : Marc Langloisagent (Chasse-galerie)
  • Trésorier : Martin Duchesneadministrator

  • Vincent Cardinal – audio director (Halo)
  • Louis Dufort – composer, professor (CMM)
  • Simon Laroche - artist, lecturer (Concordia University)
  • Robert Normandeau – composer, professor (UdeM)
  • Alain Roy, account manager (CEV)

  • Myriam Bleaunew media artist and composer
  • Myriam Boucher – new media artist, professor (UdeM) and composer
  • Guillaume Cliche – composer
  • Devon Hansen – new media artist and composer
  • Roger Tellier-Craig – composer, improviser